The Maryland Advisory Council on Physical Fitness awarded the Maryland Physical Activity Excellence Award to Bellows Spring Elementary School physical education staff members Zack Kuehne and Elizabeth Schultz in the youth category. Kuehne and Schultz are applauded for exemplifying best practices in promoting physical activity that makes a significant impact on the health of Maryland residents.

Five HCPSS schools were recognized this fall as newly certified green schools: Cradlerock, Ducketts Lane and Waterloo elementary schools, and Clarksville and Lime Kiln middle schools. HCPSS has a total of 49 certified green schools, which empower students to become leaders in protecting the environment in their schools and community.

Stevens Forest Elementary School (SFES) and its PTA have been recognized as a National PTA School of Excellence for the second consecutive two-year period for their achievement in building effective family-school partnerships. The School of Excellence award recognizes the strong partnership between SFES and its PTA to support student success and continuous school improvement through initiatives such as Parent Champion, International Night and other programs that actively engage families in the school.

SFES volunteer Beth Buzzio received the Individual 2016 Governor’s Service Award for her unwavering commitment to students, demonstrated through years of providing consistent and creative activities focused on language development and emerging literacy skills.

River Hill High School senior Jennifer Zhang was honored in the Youth category for her leadership of two community service clubs: Angel’s Network and Answer to Cancer.